18th March - Parham
The Crawley & Horsham

Next meeting

The third meeting of the South East season takes place at Parham on Saturday, and the forecast warm weather should see the racing take place on less testing ground than is the norm at this meeting.
The opening Hunt Members race has nine entries and looks very competitive, with Take The Mick, Letskeepit Simple, Hazy Tom, Honourable Exit and Strollawaynow all rated very closely, while Bay To Go could perform well on his first start for Jody Sole.
The Restricted could see Phil York’s Intercooler Turbo have his second win of the season after he ran creditably in unsuitable ground at Godstone. His opposition includes West Lake, who won at Horseheath before disappointing at Charing but, has run well at this course before and his jockey Shane Roche could not be in better form.
The Mixed Open has a super 17 entries and is headed by the 15-year-old Gauvain, who capped off last season with a hunter chase win at Fontwell but, has yet to reappear this season. His toughest opponent is The Ferbane Man, who also won at Fontwell and won here last season, but only after he took a few runs to reach his form. Conkies Lad and Crack Of Thunder are trained in neighbouring yards and were separated by a head at Charing, if possible they could get closer here.
The Veteran & Novice Riders has just nine entries but, is headed by the super Tempelpirate, who added another win to his tally at Kingston Blount a fortnight ago. He could be partnered by the leading National Novice Lady rider, Izzie Marshall, who has yet to be seen in the South East this season. His biggest threat could be Probably George, who has already placed at both South East meetings this season.
The Club Members Conditions race could see the improving Golden Tobouggan try to add to his three wins this season, but he may come up against Godstone winner Excitable Island for Nigel Padfield and Jack Andrews, as well as impressive Higham winner Merrydown Vintage for Ray Fielder and Phil York.
The concluding Open Maiden has 18 entries and could see Bollin Ali make his first start in the South East season since April 2015. He was a gallant third on his return at Horseheath last month. Nick Pearce’s Florabell looks Bollin Ali’s formidable opponent, as she has placed second on both her starts. Tim Underwood’s stable is in flying form this season and he could run Ballyfore Cross, who placed second in his last two runs in Ireland and could go off favourite under Phil York.   

Izzie Marshall went further clear at the head of the National Lady Novice Championship at Parham and joined the leaders in the local Ladies Championship, as Tim Underwood gave her the leg up on Tempelpirate in the Veteran & Novice Rider’s race. With only three rivals the odds of 2/7 seemed on the generous side, and he was guided to a smooth success by the seventeen-year-old A-level student. Tim rarely leaves Parham without a winner and this time he made doubly sure as he also saddled Ballyfore Cross to win the Open Maiden under Phil York.
Stuart Robinson’s decision to train Brunswick Gold himself this season paid dividends in the Club Members Race, as the enigmatic 12-year-old produced an awesome jumping performance and won with authority under his owner-trainer pilot.
The winner of the Mixed Open made Brunswick Gold look like a youngster, as the 15-year-old Gauvain won with consummate ease under Leanda Tickle. The duo won the Ladies Hunters’ Chase at Fontwell last May and wouldn’t be out of the betting to follow up this season.
David Phelan saddled his second winner of the season and Shane Roche rode his seventh when West Lake scored in the Restricted race. The seven-year-old had won impressively at Horseheath but had to overcome a disappointing run at Charing last time out.
Ian Cobb sent out two in the opening Hunt Members, including the 2/1 favourite Letskeepit Simple, but it was the yard’s second string Take The Mick who took the owners, striding away from his stable companion to win by eight lengths.
13.45 Hunt Members
1. TAKE THE MICK Will Hickman (Ian Cobb)
2. LETSKEEPIT SIMPLE Charlie Marshall (Ian Cobb)
3. HAZY TOM Jody Sole (Karen Philips-Hill)
4. HONOURABLE EXIT Phil York (Lucie Varnham)
5. NOBLE COMMANDER Alyce Fisher (Alyce Fisher)
P. IS IT OK Alexandra Marsh (Alexandra Marsh)
U. BRINGINTHEBRANSTON Elizabeth Feakes (Nigel Benstead)

Distances: 8l, 4l, 20l, runin
Time: 6mins 23s
Winning Owner: Heather Cobb

14.20 Restricted
1. WEST LAKE Shane Roche (David Phelan)
2. INTERCOOLER TURBO Phil York (Karen York)
3. MIRS CHOICE G Bingham (Sarah Bingham)
4. WONDERFUL PRESENT Izzie Marshall (Charlotte Marshall)
5. MACDOUGAL Will Hickman (Pam Tetley)
6. DID YOU EVER Leanda Tickle (Elizabeth Lawson)
P. BULLZEYE Charlie Marshall (Hannah Clarke)
P. TINAKELLYFLYER Oz Wedmore (Rose Grissell)

Distances: 6l, 3l, 2l, 6l, 12l
Time: 6mins 27s
Winning Owner: The Huntin, Shootin, Fishin Partnership (Brian Homewood)

14.55 Mixed Open
1. GAUVAIN Leanda Tickle (Victoria Collins)
2. CONKIES LAD Charlie Marshall (Charlotte Marshall)
3. CRACK OF THUNDER Oz Wedmore (Rose Grissell)
4. THE FERBANE MAN Shane Roche (Petra New)

Distances: 12l, 12l, 20l
Time: 6mins 19s
Winning Owner: Sarah Dawson

15.30 Veteran & Novice Riders
1. TEMPELPIRATE Izzie Marshall (Tim Underwood)
2. SEVENTH HUSSAR Ella Gillings (Andrew Coveney)
3. TIME IS TICKIN O Binks (Rose Grissell)
U. BAY TO GO G Miller (Jody Sole)

Distances: 15l, 8l
Time: 6mins 31s
Winning Owner: Tim Underwood

16.05 Club Members
1. BRUNSWICK GOLD Stuart Robinson (Stuart Robinson)
2. WOODFLEET J Nailor (Richard Bandey)
3. MINELLA FOR PARTY Leanda Tickle (Victoria Collins)
4. ROCKY ISLAND Shane Roche (Linda Pile)
5. TOO LATE TO SELL Phil York (Tim Underwood)
6. WOR ROM Oz Wedmore (Rose Grissell)
P. IHEARDU Paul Blagg (Paul Blagg)

Distances: 6l, 2l, 3l, 12l, 6l
Time: 6mins 18s
Winning Owners: Stuart Robinson & Dr Caroline Hargreaves

16.40 Open Maiden
1. BALLYFORE CROSS Phil York (Tim Underwood)
2. COOLAGH MOLL J Knox (Martin Wanless)
3. SUDSKI G Bingham (Sarah Bingham)
4. MAGIC SYMPHONY J Nailor (Richard Bandey)
5. INDIAN CHANCE Shane Roche (David Phelan)
6. FLORABELL Sam Davies-Thomas (Nick Pearce)
P. ONE FOR DODGER Elizabeth Smee (Karen York)
F. LADYS MAN Oz Wedmore (Andrew Evans)
P. BOLLIN ERIC Charlie Marshall (Charlotte Marshall)
P. WHILEURHERE Leanda Tickle (Victoria Collins)

Distances: 2l, 3l, 2l, 10l, 5l
Time: 6mins 30s
Winning Owner: Tim Underwood